Meet us

The Foundation for Public Code is a non-profit association whose mission is ‘to enable public-purpose software and policy that is open and collaborative.’

We do this by:

  • stewarding public purpose, open source codebases
  • sharing our industry-leading expertise
  • offering tailored training for public organizations
  • developing tools to make it easier for public organizations to build and maintain software together
  • facilitating collaborative software development and maintenance for public organizations

Ben Cerveny, Boris van Hoytema and Arnout Schuijff established the Foundation in 2019, based on their realization that stewardship was the key to converting the massive public investment in open source and collaboration into long-term, sustainable implementation. We were founded in Amsterdam, with the aim to operate globally.

In 2022, we launched the Foundation for Public Code North America, to support growing interest in collaborative software in that region.

The Foundation for Public Code is a member of the Digital Public Goods Alliance and a founding member of OSPO Alliance.

DPGA logo      OSPO alliance logo

See our blog for what we’re up to now.

The team

Together, we’re a multidisciplinary team with years of experience in government digital transformation, open source and building collaborative networks.

Read more about how roles are structured, or come work with us!

Former team members

Our former team members can be found in this list.